Why Do Women…?

As many of my readers know by now, I have Gender Dysphoria (aka a consistent, life-long feeling of being the wrong physical sex). Thus, I am quite comfortable in saying that I really don’t understand the female of our species…never have, and probably never will. I was talking with some of my customers today and we generally concluded that womenfolk are a mystery wrapped in an enigma. Since I have a fair number of women commenters, maybe they can help answer some of these questions.

Remember, these are generalizations and not indicative of all women at all times, nor do I think that they are necessarily biological in origin. Also note that some of these are meant to be humorous, not necessarily what every woman in the world does. 😛

1. Why do women visit the restroom in packs?
I think everyone has witnessed this: a group of men and women are eating at a restaurant, one woman announces she is going to the bathroom…and suddenly every *other* woman gets up, too. Do you really all need to urinate at the same moment? I mean, you’re going to relieve yourself not visiting an amusement park!

2. Why do women talk in the restroom?
It boggles my mind that the female of our species wants to talk, gossip, and trade “beauty secrets” while in a public bathroom. There are so many better places to hold conversations, like the table you probably just left. But no, I’ve seen (heard?)women be so engrossed in a topic that they will keep discussing it through the stalls! In my mind, this is an invasion of my privacy and just not right…I’m there to “see a man about a horse” not talk about how hard your trigonometry homework is, or why Brad Pitt’s hair is stupid.

3. Why do women open their mouths when putting on mascara?
Ok, even the authors of that great book, Imponderables, couldn’t answer this one. I can’t put on mascara to save my life, but I’ve watched lots of women do it. Every single one of them opens their mouth at least a little when doing so. Why, dammit?!

4. Why do women seem to take everything so personally?
I’ve had discussions where I’ll say that I did not care for something (like a book, a restaurant, a celebrity) and the woman I’m speaking with gets overly upset that I don’t like it, especially if it’s something they enjoy. Unlike men, who usually ask why I don’t like it, women tend to act as though I’m insulting their personal tastes. Listen, just because I don’t think Twilight is deserving of even a fraction of it’s popularity doesn’t mean you shouldn’t read/watch it if you want. I’m not questioning your sanity, I’m saying I have a different opinion!

5. Why do women keep buying so many shoes?
Seriously. I own a pair each of sneakers, hiking boots, sandals, 2 dress shoes, and winter boots. That’s a total of 6 options…why do you need any more? And what’s with high heels, those torturous footwear abominations…why own them at all, when they’re so hard to walk in and they hurt so much?

6. Why do women use exaggerations during arguments?
This is a big one. I’ve noticed that women tend to use words like “You never take out the garbage” or “I’m always the one doing the dishes around here”. Using terms like these are grossly inaccurate, and make the person you’re arguing with go on the defensive. Now, instead of talking about the REAL issues, the other person feels they have to give examples of when they did in fact take out the garbage…which does precisely nothing towards ending the argument any sooner. Wouldn’t it be better to say “I need more help with the chores this week, because I’m going to be under a lot of stress at work til this project is over. Can you take over dish duty til then?”

7. Why do women wear makeup when they want to look natural?
I don’t wear makeup, so maybe there’s a reason for this, but I just can’t understand why there’s a need to put stuff on your face if you want to look “au natural”. If you don’t want people to see any visible makeup…why not just walk out of the house with nothing on? My mother and sisters used to (and presumably still do) spend incredible amounts of time with liners, foundations, powders, and lip glosses attaining a look that was not much different than their actual face. What the heck is the point?

8. Why do women talk badly about men/feel there is female solidarity?
This has happened more times than I can count. A woman comes in with their man and makes fun of them or talks down to them for buying comic books/wanting to browse the videogames. When they come up to pay, the woman inevitably looks at me and shakes her head with a little smile.
“Boys and their toys, huh?”
“Guess they never grow up.”
“Men! Can’t drag them away from their so-called hobbies!”
It’s a very uncomfortable feeling, being around someone who publicly mocks their partner’s interests…and then expects you to agree or join in with a story about your own guy. Maybe there was a secret meeting I missed, but I didn’t hear that all people with vaginas are supposed to laugh at the people with penises. Usually I just say something like “Actually, I enjoy this comic/game too. Maybe you should try it.”
The look of confusion is priceless.

9. Why do women make a fuss over the toilet seat?”
If it’s up, put it down. The action of doing so takes 2 seconds. It’s not that big of a deal. If you live with a bunch of men/boys, you may even consider putting it back up when you’re done!

10. Why do women not want solutions?
Just to clarify, I’m not talking about things like business meetings where everyone *is* trying to find more effective ways to deal with problems or make money. No, I mean when a woman talks to you about the bad week she’s been having or all the minor issues that have been cropping up in her life. I’m all for listening to people and giving validation to their feelings…but then shouldn’t the goal of this conversation be to FIX the problems? Why is it that when I give ideas on how to rectify the issues, I’m suddenly “not listening” or “don’t understand”? I get that part of my job as a listener is to allow the speaker to vent, but then I’d think it would also be my job to present a different view of the situation or brainstorm about ways to make it better. My friends all appreciate it when I do this…so why don’t women, too?

So what do you think, female readers? Want to have a go at answering any of these? You’d be doing a lot of people (including myself) a big favor!
Male readers, do you think you have insight to these riddles? Go ahead and share your wisdom in the comments!

45 thoughts on “Why Do Women…?

  1. 1: I heard this is some kind of instinct women have, so they could avoid getting raped when they are vulnerable (sitting down to pee is kind of vulnerable), but it’s just a rumor 🙂 The actual thought process is probably different.

    3.Try to put on mascara and you will see what feels more natural 🙂 (hint: I think when you put on mascara, the lower lashes and the skin under the brush get in the way. If you open your mouth they are not in the way anymore).

    5. I recently bought shoes I can only use for photoshoots… I regret spending that money, altho the money wasn’t that much. The reason for buying was the sudden onslaught of shoe lust. Heels look great. But damn, they are horrible on the feet, and I won’t get another pair (I still don’t have many shoes in total, and most are from when I was a teenager).

    7. Maybe it’s because the natural look is you, but with a more even skintone, no obvious skin flaws, and better color. It’s like photoshop – you don’t want to look like a different person, but you want to look like a better version of you. And you don’t want anyone to think that’s not ALL you… 🙂 But I totally agree it’s not necessary to do that, you CAN look more polished with better skin care.

    As for the rest of them, I’m as curious as you are.

  2. I’ll attempt to answer a few:
    1, 2: I don’t do this, but it’s most likely to compare notes/freshen their makeup.

    3: I wear mascara about once every two years. Opening the mouth pulls the skin under the eye away from the lashes, so it’s a lot easier to apply without hitting the skin and smudging the whole thing…also needs time to dry in place.

    4: Women are a lot more likely to read something into a statement rather than take it at face value. So…”I don’t like Twilight” might come across as “I don’t like your taste”, depending on how it’s “thrown”. I’m sure there’s an evolutionary basis for that, since women have the babies and they have to pick their company carefully.
    I tend to avoid criticizing women altogether, and make general statements rather than specific, when in their company. I offer critical analysis only when asked, and then only very very carefully.

    5: I love shoes. A great pair of shoes can really make a difference (my heels are very comfortable, always from Spain or Italy no cheap knockoffs). Women aren’t the only ones who like them…men like them on women too. My husband often picks out my shoes and sometimes wants me to wear them when we’re having sex. Especially with thigh-high stockings.

    6: Couldn’t tell you. I don’t do this.

    7: This one is easy. Because they look better with makeup, but want to look like they’re a “natural beauty” who isn’t wearing makeup. Men like this look, too. Probably for similar reasons. Men have come up to me when I don’t have any on and told me I’m beautiful, and then add something like, “most women spend hours on makeup and don’t look half as good as you do without any effort!” I think the fact that I (ostensibly) look good without makeup impresses them more.

    8: No idea.

    9: Ever fallen into the toilet water while attempting to sit in the middle of the night, because you were being considerate and didn’t want to turn on the light and wake everyone up? I have. It sucks. Especially if someone didn’t flush. But pissing on the seat and leaving it down is almost as bad.

    10: Because many many women thrive on drama. Solutions limit the drama, and might reflect poorly on them and their choices. I think it’s probably hormonal…and birth control pills and depo shots are like adding lighter fluid to a bonfire.

  3. Ha, I don’t think gender dysphoria is your problem here. The problem is that these things don’t make sense.

    1. Why do women visit the restroom in packs?
    I read somewhere that you don’t want to miss interesting parts of the conversation, so if all the girls leave at once, the guys will save their good stories until they come back. But according to the evidence I’ve seen, a lot of girls are cripplingly dependent on company. It never made sense to me at school – “I’m going back to get my bag, come with me.” – and it makes even less sense to me in college – “wait for meeee!”, said as we’re leaving our last class of the day and going to our separate goddamn cars.

    2. Why do women talk in the restroom?
    What do you have against talking in the bathroom? Someone needs to wash her hands, and we’ve already established that she’s going with a friend. Let them talk. But through the stalls! Ha! … I’m guilty of this one… once. Only I was on the outside. It was just a really interesting conversation, and it happened just as we were about to leave. I wasn’t about to wait for her to finish peeing, and then spend even more time on campus finishing our talk. Lunch at home awaits! (I’d be way too shy to have been the one inside the stall, but she didn’t mind.)

    3. Why do women open their mouths when putting on mascara?
    Not a makeup person.

    4. Why do women seem to take everything so personally?
    Can you really classify this as a thing women do? I don’t know. It’s ridiculous, but I don’t see it as feminine?

    5. Why do women keep buying so many shoes?
    Everybody likes something. Why do I buy so many books, even though most of them have been duds lately? 😦

    6. Why do women use exaggerations during arguments?
    LOL at your questions, Tarnished Sophia. Personally, I think doing this is terrible and undermines the other person and their actions that the female in question so casually denies. I don’t have a lot (any) experience with analyzing the way men and women argue, so I really can’t be sure that this, like question 4, is a girl thing. Maybe it’s because they’re being drama queens? Or just really want to win the argument? When my boyfriend is angry he says ridiculous things that he doesn’t mean, just because he’s angry. It drives me crazy, I hate it so much. Statements, I mean, that aren’t true. Like saying that so-and-so doesn’t bother him and I can go ahead and do it, when we both know that it would infuriate him practically to the point of murder. Why does he taunt me like that?

    7. Why do women wear makeup when they want to look natural?
    Come on, this one is dead obvious. They want to look natural, minus this pimple and that scar and those, um, flaky bits. Natural looking, but also perfect.

    8. Why do women talk badly about men/feel there is female solidarity?
    For me, I think, it’s because I thought I’d never be caught in a relationship with Typical Saudi Man. Typical Saudi Man, let me tell you, is insanely jealous. Possessive. Almost stalkerish. Insanely. But he wasn’t like that at first; he slowly evolved into it. So when I see a girl pissed off because her man doesn’t want her to post pictures of herself on Facebook/use her real name on Twitter/etc, I commiserate with her. We are stuck in these situations because we chose to be with these guys. Because we care about their stupid feelings enough to give up inconsequential things that nevertheless prick at our sanity. But we’re in too deep to get out. That’s why I will share an “ugh, guys are assholes” with her.

    9. Why do women make a fuss over the toilet seat?”
    I have never been in this situation. Because nobody wants to touch a toilet seat?

    10. Why do women not want solutions?
    I don’t know.

  4. 1. Why do women visit the restroom in packs?
    For social reasons, not biological ones.

    2. Why do women talk in the restroom?
    I guess it never occurred to me not to. I tend not to talk while doing my business, but while fixing hair and such, it seems natural.

    3. Why do women open their mouths when putting on mascara?
    Because otherwise the space to maneuver the brush, between the lashes and cheekbones, is tiny. It’s easier to open your eyes wide and tighten the skin of your cheeks (strange description, but that’s what needs to be done) if your mouth is open. You can do it with your mouth closed, but it adds tension to the face and that’s not what you want when you are waving a goopy black piece of wire brush near your eyes. 🙂

    4. Why do women seem to take everything so personally?
    I do in fact question the sanity of people who like Twillight LOL. But I find that my skin’s metaphorical thickness changes by the days of the month, if you know what I mean. Most of the time I can brawl and trade insults with the best of them, but for a few days before The Curse arrives, I get emotional and touchy. Somewhat contradictorily, this is also when my sexual desire peaks. Whatever.

    5. Why do women keep buying so many shoes?
    GODDESS BLESS YOU for asking this. I do not freaking know. I loathe shoe shopping. I have a dozen pairs of shoes and nearly all of them are practical/low. 95% of the time I live in my LL Bean Comfort Mocs. If I must wear heels, I have a pair of Dr. Marten platform pumps that are the comfiest heels ever. I highly recommend hunting them down. Worth every penny.

    6. Why do women use exaggerations during arguments?
    Oh stop. I don’t do that. That’s the craziest thing I’ve ever heard.

    😉
    Seriously, I don’t know.

    7. Why do women wear makeup when they want to look natural?
    I am the wrong person to answer this because I’m a bit of a makeup junkie and have always liked a polished/”done” makeup look. I too wonder at articles in women’s magazines that are about the “no-makeup look” and follow with three pages of instructions on how to achieve it with makeup. Days when I’m not at work I wear BB cream (tinted sunscreen), mascara, and lip balm or sheer lipstick. It’s really about covering flaws and unevenness: I have very ruddy skin so the BB evens my skin tone and also protects from sun. My lips are normally a corpse-lavender color so a little color is necessary to make me look alive.

    8. Why do women talk badly about men/feel there is female solidarity?
    This has happened more times than I can count. A woman comes in with their man and makes fun of them or talks down to them for buying comic books/wanting to browse the videogames. When they come up to pay, the woman inevitably looks at me and shakes her head with a little smile.
    “Boys and their toys, huh?”
    “Guess they never grow up.”
    “Men! Can’t drag them away from their so-called hobbies!”
    It’s a very uncomfortable feeling, being around someone who publicly mocks their partner’s interests…and then expects you to agree or join in with a story about your own guy. Maybe there was a secret meeting I missed, but I didn’t hear that all people with vaginas are supposed to laugh at the people with penises. Usually I just say something like “Actually, I enjoy this comic/game too. Maybe you should try it.”
    The look of confusion is priceless.

    Good for you! I would never, ever do this, and it is horrible when women do it. If he were to mock my buying of nail polish or opera videos in public, that would be just as bad.

    9. Why do women make a fuss over the toilet seat?”

    See Liz’ reply above. Falling into the toilet in the middle of the night is humiliating. 😦

    10. Why do women not want solutions?
    Just to clarify, I’m not talking about things like business meetings where everyone *is* trying to find more effective ways to deal with problems or make money. No, I mean when a woman talks to you about the bad week she’s been having or all the minor issues that have been cropping up in her life. I’m all for listening to people and giving validation to their feelings…but then shouldn’t the goal of this conversation be to FIX the problems? Why is it that when I give ideas on how to rectify the issues, I’m suddenly “not listening” or “don’t understand”? I get that part of my job as a listener is to allow the speaker to vent, but then I’d think it would also be my job to present a different view of the situation or brainstorm about ways to make it better. My friends all appreciate it when I do this…so why don’t women, too?

    I wouldn’t mind personally if you did this, but sometimes I just want to beyotch out loud. It’s satisfying. No response besides sympathetic clucking is required.

  5. @ Sasha: “Metallic lime green platform go-go boots. I can only wear them for an hour at a time though.”

    EVERY woman should have a pair of those! They are AWESOME!!

    But I love shoes. My closet is full. My husband calls me Imelda Marcos. It’s my one weakness. But I’m a nurse, and accustomed to wearing the ugliest shoes for 14 hour shifts, that need to be autoclaved and left in the garage. Wearing and buying sexy shoes is like an emotional high for me.

  6. @Liz–Unless you are bankrupting a nation to feed your shoe habit, you ain’t no Imelda Marcos. If it’s your own hard-earned money you’re spending, buy what makes you happy 🙂
    For me it’s perfume and scarves. And lately I’ve been on a nail-polish kick. Sigh.

  7. The claim that females are so mysterious that they can not be understood is a COP OUT! X = female nature Y = male nature and XX = girl and XY = boy hence men and females share the same feminine nature while women are all female – men are both male and female.

    The real problem isn’t understanding females the problem is getting men to stand up to females by requiring them to act like adults by taking responsibility for the consequences of their own choices and actions instead of acting like children.

  8. Hi, DaPoet.

    While I did certainly have some fun with this post, it was really just showing that there are various things that women do differently than men…thus leading to some confusion between the sexes. I don’t mean to say that women can’t be understood at all, only that there’s miscommunication or societal teachings that make us think/act in different ways.

    Also, I’m not sure if you’re aware, but nearly all human chromosomes have an X shape…only the Y chromosome is not. Men aren’t both “male and female”, they just have an X and a Y, rather than the 2 larger-sized Xs. See here for more info:

    http://www.contexo.info/DNA_Basics/chromosomes.htm

    I do agree with having all people, regardless of chromosomal makeup, take full responsibility for their actions and words. One of the main tenets of my faith is the idea that there is no “devil made me do it” mentality…You need to accept everything you’ve ever said/done, whether it’s good or bad.

  9. Well the reason women travel in packs is because their physical vulnerability merits it. And also the other behaviours are designed to look attractive to the opposite sex. Other behaviours ensure the women aren’t kicked out of the group which meant an early death.

  10. Sophia I suggest that you reread the page you linked because there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING written on that page that contradicts what I wrote in my comment. Hence My comment stands!

  11. While your ideas have merit, I still find it hard to believe that most of it is not society-driven. For example, young girls do not visit the restroom together…it really only starts during or after puberty. As there is both no real danger in a typical middle school, and the behavior starts as the girls are growing and becoming LESS vulnerable, I’d tend to think that it’s more of a bonding exercise than anything.

  12. @DaPoet
    Of course your comment stands…you’ve done nothing to go against my Comments Policy, so I won’t block you or erase it.
    I’m just saying that men are not men/women typically. For something like what you describe, it would need to be a chromosomal sequence like XXY (which does happen, but is rare.)

    For a normal male, the Y chromosome and it’s activation of the SRY gene means that they are fully male…men don’t have testes AND ovaries, the same way women don’t have a clitoris AND penis. On a bodily level, men are fully men and women are fully women…though I’ll be the first to admit that our shells aren’t always well matched with our minds. 😉

  13. @Liz
    5. How can shoes “make a difference”? A difference to what exactly?

    7. Men (and some women) have done this to me as well. I find it a little annoying…it’s not like anyone would make a comment about how handsome I am without makeup if I were a man. But then, this is me being more sensitive to gender differences in society.

    9. Nope, never happened to me. I live alone, and even for the times when I didn’t (or I shared a hotel room), I always close the door fully THEN turn on the light. Same for when I leave: Turn off light, THEN open door.

    10. Interesting. I’ve not researched much into birth control, as I don’t need it. What have you found they do?
    I took birth control pills for 4 months as an experiment to see how my body would react…Other than preventing me from bleeding, I felt exactly the same as I always do emotionally. Physically, they made me very horny, but that was easily taken care of. 🙂

  14. @bzzfft
    Lol, I know most of them don’t make sense…that’s why I find them confusing!

    2. I guess I just don’t think of the bathroom as a place for conversation. Not saying *others* have to change their behavior to suit me…but having someone talk to me at all in the restroom, regardless of what I’m doing, makes me very uncomfortable.

    4. As I said up top, I don’t think every single woman does it, nor do I think it’s purely biological (if at all). But I’ve met a huge number of women who do this, and only 3 guys.

    6. Oh no, men can definitely use exaggerations or lies too. But I have casually analyzed male/female arguments that I’ve seen, and women tend towards it far more than men do. Again, it could just be how they’re raised.

    7. But then why not just cover up the pimple or scar? Perfection isn’t natural. 😛

    8. I’ll leave this one alone, since I have no experience with a serious relationship.

  15. @Sasha

    1. Yeah, that’s what I’m thinking…but I still wonder why.

    2. Hmm, so it could be an extension of #1?

    4. This doesn’t happen to me, but I understand from being around my mother and sisters. Yeesh, watch out for what you say at those times!

    5. How do you ladies remember the names of all these shoes?! 😉

    7. So, have you never really gone out with a naked face?

    10. “No response besides sympathetic clucking is required.” Really? The only time I’ll talk about my frustrations is when I’m looking for help with them…

  16. 7. So, have you never really gone out with a naked face?

    Naked as in no makeup? Sure, lots of times.
    Naked as in no sun protection? No way. I am very strict about it, having two relations who died of melanoma or complications thereof. I don’t go to the mailbox without sunscreen. Sun damage is cumulative, so even if you get just five unprotected minutes of sun a day, over a week it’s the equivalent of sunbathing for 35 minutes. Paleface here don’t like that.

    If that makes me paranoid, so be it. 🙂

  17. @Sasha
    Sorry to hear about your relatives. I’ve lost a number of my own family members to cancers as well, and you have my sympathy.

    I don’t have a chance to be outside nearly as much as I’d like, so I don’t wear sunscreen when I *do* get to be out. Does wearing sunscreen hinder your body’s ability to take in vitamin D from the sunlight?

  18. Does wearing sunscreen hinder your body’s ability to take in vitamin D from the sunlight?

    Opinions differ but the general consensus is no. I protect my face and neck but not my hands, so I am getting a bit of straight sun.

    BTW check your e-mail. 😉

  19. “5. How can shoes “make a difference”? A difference to what exactly?”
    The presentation (in every respect). An outfit isn’t complete without a good pair of shoes that compliment the outfit.

    “10. Interesting. I’ve not researched much into birth control, as I don’t need it. What have you found they do?
    The pill made me fat, angry, and nutty. Even worse than pregnancy. Not horny at all.

  20. You are thinking of a hermaphrodite and confusing the physical with nature. Human nature is both male (y) and female (x) hence female + female or x + x = girl while female + male or x + y = male – only the male carries both the x and the y chromosomes while females only carry the x chromosome – hence men and women have the female (x) nature in common but not the male (y) nature in common.

  21. @DaPoet

    No, I’m not thinking of a hermaphrodite (or as they are called in modern times, intersexed). I can see what you are attempting to say now, though every Biology professor I’ve ever had would be rolling in their graves with your use of terminology. 😛

    Okay, so men and women have the “female nature” in common. I don’t see what this has to do with my post…You said that men not fully understanding women is a “cop out” because of our shared X, but that also makes no sense. The presence of the X chromosome in both men and women does little to change what the second chromosome usually does, and has nothing to do with how female/male children are typically raised differently, or the amount of testosterone in the womb during pregnancy.

  22. Well, you were right about these being generalizations. I only come close to doing numbers four and six. And I certainly hope that it’s not as exaggerated as that sounds.

    The thing is, I think that men take things just as personally as I do, and also exaggerate.

    My exaggerations are generally common things that are often said: “I’ve said it a million times.” I say it because I unconsciously hear a lot, it gets into my brain, and I repeat it. But I’ve heard men say that sort of thing too.

    I wonder if we have stereotypes and notice it more when people fit the stereotype, and ignore when it doesn’t. That definitely does happen.

    While I don’t participate in some of the other things I know that it is common for women to go to the bathroom in packs and to talk there. Some women go in groups because it’s safer. But also women are taught to be more sociable than men are. Just think about the difference in toys. Girls toys and play are often conversational: tea parties, dolls, Barbie. Boys toys are more about balls and trucks. Plus, women don’t have to deal with the homophobia of going to the bathroom with the same-sex at the same time.

    A lot of women buy a lot of shoes – and clothes generally – because that is also part of the female role: to look fashionable. Women are judged by their appearance. And again look at their play: Barbie and all of her fashions. Or makeup sets – getting into the makeup thing. And I don’t know if all women are wanting to look natural. Women can be judged negatively if they don’t wear makeup. Or, some might think they look natural when they don’t.

  23. No, not exaggerated at all.
    They really are just generalizations that I’ve noticed…ones that I am told is typical behavior, but with no reasons given.

    I like when you stop by and give your opinions/ideas, so thank you for that!

  24. “And I certainly hope that it’s not as exaggerated as that sounds.” was referring to “I only come close to doing numbers four and six.” which were, in part, about women exaggerating. So I was saying that I sometimes exaggerate – but maybe not that much. I know, it’s confusing!

  25. So, you are not only wise Sophia, but well educated, and well informed. The explanation you gave to DaPoet on sex chromosome inheritance and it’s significance is right on point. Your Biology teachers would be proud. As a Biology teacher, it makes me hopeful that some of my students might pay attention as well as you did, so that they too can argue intelligently whenever they need to. The X chromosome does not = female. The lack of a Y or inability to respond to androgens = physical female. Male and female “natures” appear to be linked more to hormonal influences on the brain during embryonic development, and/or gender-based socialization later on, than it is with the sex chromosomes themselves. I think that the presence of a “feminized” brain and/or some degree of gender socialization can explain most of what you described in your post. The mouth opening is just mechanics. 🙂

  26. Well…I am not a make up person so I can’t really answer any of those questions….also I tend not to be the type of women that goes into the restroom with other women. And I really don’t like shoes. Mainly, I wanted to comment on the women take things personally one. That is NOT a feminine quality…it is stupid but I have seen PLENTY of men taking things very personally…See Elevatorgate. Or when I worked in a bar I would see men get in physical fights because someone dissed their sports team. Sorry it just kind of chaps my hide when people act like women b crazy when men do much of the same behaviors

  27. Hey Debbie.

    That’s pretty interesting. I’ve never been to a bar, much less worked in one…I’d love to hear about more of your experiences!

    I work and am friends with nerds/geeks. They like their sports teams, but they’d never act like that. 🙂
    And yes: Men do exhibit many of these same behaviors…but in my personal experience I see women portraying them far more consistently. Again, just my own experience. Yours could be quite different, or you may not notice it as much.

  28. I used to work in a bar and grill that had both male and female workers. In the bar area; every time there was a basketball or football game on there would be at least a few bar fights…ALWAYS by men and it was over like/dislike of the LAkers or Raiders….I can assure you though these were not geeks and nerds but more jock types. Also women are not a monolith and many like games and comics too

  29. @Debbie

    Huh, sounds like an interesting and busy job. Yeah, I can imagine jock types getting far more worked up about sports teams…goes with the territory, I suppose.

    I’m unsure about your comment about “monoliths” unless it’s a use of the term that I’m unfamiliar with. Regardless, I don’t think I’ve ever said that women can’t be into games/comics? I’m friends with nerds and geeks because I’m one too, after all.

  30. Easy.

    1. Because I’m a talker, and I only do it with people I am very familiar with. If I am in a bathroom full of strange women no. But I’ll even do it to guys I dated not intentionally. Btw half of the boyfriends I had put up with it and even responded. Don’t know how they felt about it though. (Through the door of course) I’d say extroverts talk anywhere male or female, and some introverts with only close friends. Juicy conversations cant wait too, so its partly impatience and not wanting to end a story just because I have to pee. I also interrupt others when talking. I’m not extroverted but you don’t find many talkers on the internet especially blogs like these. Ask any outgoing highly chatty male or female.

    2. You’re right guys don’t like it as much but see point above it has nothing to do with restrooms, its all about the conversation, impatience, and being very chatty in general, which prob. more females are. Btw, I could still talk in a dressing room, while swimming, etc and there are men that do it too, see strangers that randomly talk in public.

    3. Easier to put on. And have you ever watched a toddler or young baby intently concentrating? When you are intently concentrating your mouth hangs slack, unless you are still in the moment highly aware of how you look, which socially awkward people do. I know I still am socially awkward. like OMG is my mouth open You know why dumb people don’t care if their mouth is open when panting or concentrating they aren’t self aware enough to do two things at once like concentrate on mascara and keeping the flies out lol. Or easier to put on because I do it too and look dumb.

    4. Feelings. Guys have irrational moments too. For instance getting butthurt over one whole gender because a couple people broke your heart is a generalization. So if one sees a comment like men are… or women are… they get offended even if its true because one male/female was bitchy to them and criticized them so they cant take no more. Btw I’m guilty of this one all the time. Its a highly sensitive thing.

    5. Its like anything. I don’t do shoes but Clothes, books, and even a musical instrument totally unneeded but a great hobby and $$ expensive. I mean why buy lots of snacks, kyacks, sports equipment, exercise clothes, weights, computer games, porn anyone? lol once again not a guy thing. If its your own money great but a lot of people can cut back in one area or another before crying broke.

    6. Its an anger thing and an intelligence thing not a gender thing. I mean why do ALL women do these things? lol Hint they don’t…. Dumb people are more irrational especially during temper tantrums, also see very butthurt people.

    7. because they want to lie and say oooooh I went out looking all natural. I really hate fakers. I mean if you put on makup own it. Like getting a boob job and saying its natural or dieting and exercising and saying “i’m naturally skinny” or getting lucky and saying ‘I’m naturally rich or good at my job”

    8. See point number 4 guys do it too. Joining the I hate women/men club after you’ve been stabbed one too many times is understandable but not right and ethical to constantly put down people you don’t know. Generalizing. And there are bad men/women out there but saying all people are like that is just bitter. After being cheated on I became surprisingly agreeable with feminists but that lasted for like all about a second till my anger brain left and logic switched back. LOL

    9. Its passive aggressive and feminist lol Men do it too with other things. LIke when you already hate your partner you nit pick. Or an OCD person that cant stand imperfection not the marrying type its hell to live with if your not OCD too. Men do things like OMG your two pound overweight or you never cook for me or make any money…when they are already out of love with someone. First of all its stupid because you picked to be with that person just leave if its cheating or something bad don’t nit pick till the other person leaves first. Also feminists have a “code of ethics” that make no discernible sense. Like he must put down the toilet seat for you or he doesn’t love you…THe heck?! lol I’d pick opening doors and being a gentleman than a jerk who puts down the seat. hahaha.

    Its just common sense, people need more of it. I hope this answered your questions sufficiently.
    From a lurker.

  31. No problem. Yeah I’m very shy online due to bad experiences. Thanks for letting me post. Enjoyed your blog posts.

  32. I can appreciate that. Sometimes people on forums/blog comments get so incredibly stupid and aggressive that it puts one off of commenting.

    Please note that in my Comments Policy page I let everyone know that this is a safe-space for all, regardless of any factors you can think of. Hence why I also have my comments on moderation…If it is hurtful or an attack, I won’t let it through.

    Just know that if you do decide to comment here, you will be safe. If you still don’t want to, I’m cool with that too. Thanks for reading!

  33. 1. Why do women visit the restroom in packs?
    I think it’s because they want to gossip about whoever they are hanging out with or about someone who is not even there. I personally don’t like going to the loo with a pack, one friend is enough, so they can hold my door if the lock is broken, give me a tissue if there isn’t any toilet paper, etc. For me it’s about the practical side of it 🙂

    2. Why do women talk in the restroom?
    Why do women talk anywhere, all the time I might ask? They just don’t want to miss yet another opportunity 😀

    3. Why do women open their mouths when putting on mascara?
    I think it’s some sort of concentration on their side. Their mouth opens involuntarily.

    4. Why do women seem to take everything so personally?
    Because they think the world revolves around them. Every single one no matter what she claims.

    5. Why do women keep buying so many shoes?
    To fill all the holes inside and feel more confident. And also because they believe a person can tell a lot about another by their shoes. Which is a massive cliche I think.

    6. Why do women use exaggerations during arguments?
    To add more drama. Drama is ALWAYS the end goal of all argument.

    7. Why do women wear makeup when they want to look natural?
    Because they want to enhance their natural look, not bare all.

    8. Why do women talk badly about men/feel there is female solidarity?
    It’s an old concept – men are the enemy, let’s all gather in packs and bash on men. And if there is no man present women have the false feeling of superiority (even for a short while). It’s like: he/they can’t defend themselves! I am right!

    9. Why do women make a fuss over the toilet seat?”
    I have no idea. Never had a problem with that. I think it’s a form of OCD.

    10. Why do women not want solutions?
    Because this will take away the pleasure of whining, nagging and ranting, which they need like they need air.

    Hope this gives you some clarity! 🙂

  34. #3 is not really a woman thing, it’s more like an involuntary thing. Ever use your finger to try and rub something out that’s stuck in your eye? You’re probably making the same face. I know I do.
    #9 – Um, what? I’ve never heard of this before.

  35. @Virgin Male

    Yeah, #3 is kind of a joke. Honestly, not all the things on this list are serious questions. Some were just funny observations I had.

    About #9: Really? You’re lucky then. I’ve had many more inane discussions regarding this topic than I’d like to admit. I don’t think it’s a big deal, but in my personal experiences a lot of women get offended or miffed when they go to use a restroom and the seat is up.

  36. Weird, right? From what I gather, it’s mostly an issue when the woman in question sits down without looking and gets her arse a bit wet. Which I find absolutely hilarious, but I try not to laugh. I mean, really? How long does it take to look down?

Leave a Reply

