10 Things I Am Thankful For

As my American audience (and some of my other followers) know, Thanksgiving is on Thursday this week. Regardless of whether you celebrate it or not, I hope every one of my fellow bloggers has a wonderful day.

I myself will be at my mother’s house, hearing stories from my younger brother about Afghanistan (he’s a Marine), tales of boyfriend/clubbing/girly stuff from my younger sisters (they’re typical teenage girls), the latest New Age “news” from my mother (she’s a massage therapist who’s into the weird side of Wicca), and constant reminders from my aunt and uncle that I should “quit that gaming store and get a real job”. So, hopefully I will survive… 😉

But, in the spirit of Thanksgiving and what it really *should* mean, I wanted to do a post about the things I’m truly thankful for. Feel free to leave your own in the comments. Oh, and Happy Hanukkah to my Jewish readers, since it came so early this year!

I am thankful for…

1. Good job. Having decent employment that allows one to pay all their bills in this tough economy is nothing to sneeze at.

2. Great friends. Seriously, they are awesome. I’d lay down my life for any one of these men.

3. Readily available food and shelter. With the amount of homeless and hungry people we have in this country, I am grateful that I’m able to donate food to help them, rather than be one myself.

4. That I know my family. Are they all materialistic, shallow, celebrity wannabes? Yes…yes, they are. But at least I know where I come from and still have them around.

5. That I had enough self-esteem  left by the time I was nearly 18 to leave home. I have a feeling that if I didn’t leave when I did, I’d have killed myself. So, yay me!

6. That I live in a country where I have so many equal rights and opportunities in comparison to other foreign women. American women have it good…sometimes I think *too* good.

7. That I’m free to live my own way. My survival is not dependent on me getting married, having children, or submitting to anyone. There are many who cannot say the same.

8. My fellow bloggers. I’ve never met any of you in real life, and probably never will. But I’m happy that you’re around to write, share your experiences/opinions, and build the blogging community with your knowledge. You all rock!

9. Living in a society that is constantly being cared for by others who are in jobs I don’t have to do myself. Oil riggers, sanitation workers, doctors, nurses, farmers, pharmacists, technology engineers, assembly line workers, auto mechanics, EMTs, teachers, firefighters, cops…All these men and women who keep America running. You always have my gratitude.

10. And last, but never least, that I have such a wonderful FwB, who patiently taught me that sex is not something to fear, but to embrace and enjoy to the fullest. Without him, I’d be a 29 year old wallflower virgin who’s still terrified of physical intimacy. Big, BIG thanks to him!

So, there we go. The major things I’m thankful for this Thanksgiving. What about you?

13 thoughts on “10 Things I Am Thankful For

  1. A great post for Thanksgiving. I’m also grateful to have all my needs met, have interesting work, to have lucked out in the parent/family department, and many other things.

    But I couldn’t help but wonder about this part of your post:

    American women have it good…sometimes I think *too* good.

    Too good? How so?

  2. Like you, I’m thankful to have a job, to have my health restored to me after 8 months of illness, and to have great friends both real and virtual.

  3. Lol, of course. How could I forget point #11? 😉

    Yeah, #4 is maybe a little too truthful, but none of my family members know I blog so I can afford to speak my mind here.

  4. @BroadBlogs

    Glad to hear it. I’m happy that you have things to be thankful for as well.

    As for the second part of your comment, I was just thinking of some of the laws in our society that are unfair to men. My egalitarian-ness showing again! 😛

  5. I’m thankful for my robust physical health…

    being able to play guitar and go mountainbiking for the next few days…

    the fact that even though my employment situation isn’t very secure I built up some savings and don’t have to worry too much…

Leave a Reply

