Skyclad

Quick and silent as a shadow
I make my careful way
Out into the acres of forest
That are no longer brightened by day.

I know these woods
Their paths are my own
The wind whispers around me
Trees creak sigh and moan.

Pale moonlit leaves and needles
Rocks and stones on my bare feet
The stars shine down on my form
The moss and bark I greet

Taking one last deep breath
I glance furtively around
Satisfied I am at last alone
I let my robe drop to the ground

No longer encumbered by clothing
I laugh and stretch out to the sky
The full moon shines back as always
As silvered clouds float by

I climb the rocky outcropping
Gazing down at the fields below
How dissimilar the world is at night
This land I love and know

Lighting my lone candle
I kneel on the comforting stones
The night breeze seeks to temper
The heat in my mortal bones

I steady my excited breathing
As I begin to solemnly recite
My self penned dedication
To the Gods of day and night

Never again shall flesh cross my lips
And always shall I give love
Understanding and comfort
To those society deems unworthy of

I ask the Goddess to bless me
With an eternal ability to care
Of her beloved Consort I request
The strength to do and dare

The words are sweet upon my tongue
As the starlight caresses my hair
I am unafraid and unashamed
My body and soul laid bare

When I have finally finished
The silence becomes still and deep
I take it in as the gift that it is
A promise of love for my spirit to keep

I don my robe once again
The candle gently snuffed out
And quietly walk back to my home
Soul cleansed of all pain and doubt

19 thoughts on “Skyclad

  1. A deed done. This was the dedication ritual I did when I was 15 in the woods behind my house. I didn’t/don’t belong to a coven, so this was my personal affirmation as a serious follower of Paganism. I’d also been a vegetarian since I was 13, but decided that I’d use it as a daily reminder of my religious belief of Harm None by this point.

  2. I love writing poetry. Got a few school awards for poems I’ve written, but many more for my charcoal sketches. Wish I had more time to write and draw, honestly.

  3. That’s really beautiful Ms. Sophia. It really drew me in. Felt I was participating too.
    On a side note, I’ve been watching Anthony Bourdain’s (sp?) CNN world travels. He’s a chef so he eats a lot. And sometimes we see the things killed. It’s turning me into a vegetarian. It’s the first time I’ve really “Gotten” the reality of the killing.

  4. Do you prefer drawing from nature, or from imagination?
    Unfortunately, I was too much focused on studying to dedicate more time to drawing seriously. For someone immersed in natural sciences the sentiment expressed here was very compelling. I regret losing much of initial sense of wonderment over the years that followed. Well, I suppose everyone becomes less passionate with age. You don’t, Tarn?

  5. Thank you. I was worried that the flow of my words was off, but I think it came out alright.

    I don’t have TV service in my home, but I’ve seen the show when I visit my mother and sisters from time to time. I have yet to see any episodes where someone gets killed for food though. I probably wouldn’t like it.

    Killing is necessary sometimes, but I hate doing it. The scrape of the vertebrate as you twist the neck is sickening, even though it happens quickly but the feeling of the energy (soul?) being severed is worse. I’ve done 6 mercy killings in my life thusfar, and each one hurts deeply.

    I already know I could never kill a fellow animal for food, though I don’t condemn animals who are carnivores or omnivores. I’d sooner starve than do so.

  6. I enjoy both. I mostly did imagination in my free time…griffons, dragons, merfolk, gnomes, the fae, and sometimes creatures or buildings I saw in my dreams.

    For my art classes, I enjoyed using dry pastels, charcoal, and Indian ink with bamboo rods…I’m not good with adding colors, so I got used to working with lots of details and shading.

    I don’t know how one can become *less* passionate as one ages. We have entire worlds of knowledge at our fingertips…we can learn about god particles one day, sign language the next, and the most recent advancements in stem cell research after that. The life cycle of gypsy moths, how to make key lime pie, virtual reality helmets, flying cars, parakeet breeding, Carl Jung vs Sigmund Freud, what dragonflies eat, spelunking techniques, why gravity works, scientific explanations for ghosts…there is quite literally a never ending amount of information to be discovered and anyone with access to the internet can have it *all*. Instantaneously!

    And that’s not even counting just learning from being outside. It’s mind blowing, what you can find by simply going into the woods or lake and sitting still for a few hours. The multitude of scents, the feel of the ground under your feet, the sounds of the insects, birds, squirrels, chipmunks, fish…maybe even deer and foxes if you are quiet enough…the lapping of the tiny waves, the way the light changes throughout your visit.

    I find it difficult to feign indifference to the glory that is everywhere, everyday. Less passionate? Maybe when I die, lol.

  7. I’m curious as to why studying would mean you had less time to draw. From 8th grade to 12th grade I took many AP courses, was in the National Honor Society upon graduation, and got to do the Bridge Program in my senior year. Even with a after school job Monday-Friday, being in science club, and doing neighborhood clean-up on Saturdays couldn’t keep me away from my sketches.

    Then again, I don’t really sleep, so maybe that’s not fair… 😦

  8. @BroadBlogs

    Sorry if my response was too graphic for you. I sometimes get carried away in my honesty, especially when talking about difficult topics. Hope I didn’t upset you.

  9. @Poet

    Unfortunately, unlike some of my artwork, I’ve not been able to find any of my poetry journals. I most likely left them when I moved out at 17, and now that my stepfather has the house to himself I wouldn’t feel comfortable going back there. However, I’m rolling a few verses for various poems around in my head, and when they’re done I’ll post ’em for you.

  10. The latest fun idea: It’s possible that gingers, in aggregate,
    might be more likely to be practitioners of more “stimulating” forms of BDSM than the general population. Deliciously politically incorrect…

Leave a Reply

